A love of reading

I have been a lifelong reader. Yes, it’s true . From the time I learned to read I have devoured books. My earliest recollection besides those wonderful Ginn readers are Clifford and The Five Chinese Brothers. Ginn’s readers would take me to distant magical lands. Who could forget Tom, Betty Susan and Flip. There was the delightful story of the “Pancake Man” a silly version on the Gingerbread Man , “Zeke the Raccoon”,those wonderful play “Blue Dishes”  or Snipp, Snapp and Snurr and “the Red Shoes” for mother. My four all time favorite stories came out of the third grade readers. “Blue Cornflower”, Billy Tigertail ,”New Moon and the Dragon” and “Toto of the South Seas”. Thats not even to mention the fantastic tales of faraway lands inhabited by talking ducks, magic carpets, Brennan town musicians or royalty.I was so pleased to find a few copies and used them with my own children in school.                                                                                                               Over time Nancy Drew replaced picture books.I loved the titian haired detective and the adventures she embarked on. I think I had read every single book the library had and even convinced my grandparents to buy me what the library didn’t have. Another series I enjoyed was the Childcraft Childrens Encyclopedia. Oh I loved those books and took them out every chance I got. I had found those books in later years but my boys did not find them as enthralling as their mother once did. In fourth grade our teacher read to us.Books such as “A Wrinkle in Time”, “Farmer Boy”, and “Strawberry Girl” just to name a few.                                                                                     As an almost teen I would borrow my mothers books and hide underneath the stairs of our duplex with a flashlight. Of course, she or my dad would find me and I’d give the book back. Now I realize how inappropriate  those books were to my delicate mind. My mom was always reading and I followed suit. I can remember reading books that had wonderful vocabulary and asking my mom what exactly a word meant . She eventually just bought me a dictionary.                                                                                                                                Over the years my taste has ran from Harlequins ( predictable), Historical Romance (the girl is forced to submit then they hate each other then fall in love.PLEASE), Horror, True Crime, I could go on and on. But I won’t.Nowadays I’ve given up the predictable  Amish fiction in favour of  Dystopian Societies.                                  I love and miss my mom who passed away and I credit her with my love for reading. As the years went by she’d give me her books she had read . Books from the Oprah book club mostly. I didn’t like Oprah but her book lists were terrific.                                                             I find that with the new technology it may be easier to find and access books true but there is something in a physical book that cannot be duplicated. The smell of a new or old book , holding a book and bookmarking it , it’s always there you do not need to worry about the battery life . For this ole gal just give me a book and I’m gone for hours.  Image

3 thoughts on “A love of reading

  1. Hi there! I am a fellow bookworm. If you’ve got time for a few new ones may I recommend:
    The Glass Castle, The Poisonwood Bible, Left Neglect, and anything by Wally Lamb.
    Also, thanks so much for following my blog!

  2. I was the nerd child that kept a scribbler in which I would write the title, short description, and rate the books with the sticky stars (1 to 5) on how worthy they were. I started this in Grade 3 haha…I wish I still had it so I could see what my child mind liked.
    I’m with you, I’d much rather hold a REAL book in my hands than view it through a reader. The feel of picking up a book and turning the pages……for me that’s much more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

