School daze

578283_472131059469082_1042588637_n

Dear readers I do not pretend to be a perfect mother in fact, I am far from it. I grew up with my grandparents . Why? I do not really know . My mom was very young when she had me and married at 17. She was just a kid herself. I was a wild child and my parents didn’t know what to do with me or so it seemed as a result child rearing teens was daunting especially a troubled one. I am not making excuses just stating how I saw it. When Justin was in elementary he didn’t want to go to school . He would cry as I walked away the principal assuring me he would be fine . His grade 2 teacher was very horrible and didn’t understand kids or so it seemed. I remember he would say that J was not very smart and I knew that was not the case as at home he knew his studies and I even complained when he failed him on a math test. I told him to give him a couple questions and of course, he got them right so his grade was changed. There was an incident where someone apparently threw an apple at his head . The bruise stayed on him for months and we even ended up taking him to get checked out. It was terrible                                                                                                                                      When we moved the counselor said it was a learning disability so they “modified” his work . He still called home often for us to come and get him from school. Moving to our present local did not fair any better and soon things got out of control with behavior and it was one battle after another. Things started changing when he told me I should go to to church with him and I did. When I was pregnant with my 3rd I became a Christian .Not a very good one at that. I never went to church, never had contact with other Christians . Reason being, we lived in the country and I had no license . When my 4th baby was in the hospital I started rethinking life and when he survived I started seeing the reality of God. Going to church with my sons brought people in my life that homeschooled their kids . I had never heard of homeschooling before and truthfully the thought was scary. It took God a year to show me that I needed to do this. So, grade 7 Justin was home schooled . The first few months were a transition but we soon got the kinks out. There were field trips and new friends from church and it was great. The Public school was a thing of the past. He became involved in 4-H . Things appeared good but that would soon change come grade 9. I am not sure what happened but he changed. Was it home or the fact he started hanging out with public school kids again ? Not sure. I just want to point out that I do not think all school kids are trouble makers because they are not. We find trouble when we look for trouble. We allow ourselves to make good choices or bad choices.   

Leave a Reply

