A Phase

  The day I admitted that Justin had a drug problem that he was an addict was a revelation . By revelation I do not mean aha that ‘s what the problem is. I knew the problem I just wouldn’t admit it, that was like admitting defeat. No, the revelation was nothing  I said or did would fix the problem.                                                                                                                                                                                I went to pick him up from the city and take him home and as we were passing by Redwater he told me to let him out . I refused and he said if I didn’t he would jump out. There was a corner which I usually slowed down for which I knew he was thinking would be his opportunity. Instead I sped around the corner and kept the pace til we were home. Where he promptly took off .                                             A few days after this happened I was looking through the Shepherd’s guide and came across the name of a drug Councillor so I called him. I was telling him what was happening and how Justin acted right down to the candy cravings. He said matter of factly “you’re son is a drug addict”. Hearing a stranger rely that to me made me realize what I knew all along . I tried to do things on my own up to that point and it didn’t work.                                                                                                                                                                      Shortly after I prayed and gave him to God , I allowed myself to finally let go and give Jesus that burden I’d been carrying for years. Up to that point I wanted to hold on to him but realized that I needed God’s strenght to carry me and him. MATTHEW 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. ”  The reason I titled this a phases is because a church member once said to me that he was going through a phase and even then I knew it wasn’t a phase . I would have preferred a hug or prayer for comfort. I know she meant well but a phase it was not.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         . 

Leave a Reply

